And the Band Played On

by: Randy Shilts

$22.99 $1.99
An international bestseller, a nominee for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and made into a critically acclaimed movie, Shilts' expose revealed why AIDS was allowed to spread unchecked during the early 80's while the most trusted institutions ignored or denied the threat. One of the few true modern classics, it changed and framed how AIDS was discussed in the following years. Now republished in a special 20th Anniversary edition, And the Band Played On remains one of the essential books of our time.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Escape from Sobibor

by: Richard Rashke

$17.99 $3.56
In this edition of Escape from Sobibor, fully updated in 2012, Richard Rashke tells their stories, based on his interviews with eighteen of the survivors. It vividly describes the biggest prisoner escape of World War II. A story of unimaginable cruelty. A story of courage and a fierce desire to live and to tell the world what truly went on behind those barbed wire fences.   

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Cybertraps for Expecting Moms & Dads

by: Frederick S. Lane

$4.99 $0.99
Pregnancy -- it's a magical time for you and your family. And no one could be happier for you than the companies eager to collect mountains of personal data about you and your dear little bundle of data. In "Cybertraps for Expecting Moms & Dads," technology and privacy expert Frederick Lane offers an entertaining but sobering look at reproduction in the digital era.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

The Sleep Revolution

by: Arianna Huffington

$16.00 $1.99
Co-founder and editor in chief of The Huffington Post Arianna Huffington shows how our cultural dismissal of sleep as time wasted compromises our health and our decision-making and undermines our work lives, our personal lives--and even our sex lives in this New York Times bestseller. 

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Catherine the Great

by: Simon Dixon

$16.99 $2.99
Intimate and revealing, Catherine the Great examines the lifelong friendships that sustained the empress throughout her personal life and places her within the context of the royal court: its politics, its flourishing literature and the very culture that became central to her exercise of absolute power.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Fooled by Randomness

by: Nassim Nicholas Taleb

$16.99 $2.99
Fooled by Randomness is a standalone book in Nassim Nicholas Taleb’s landmark Incerto series, an investigation of opacity, luck, uncertainty, probability, human error, risk, and decision-making in a world we don’t understand. The other books in the series are The Black Swan, Antifragile, Skin in the Game, and The Bed of Procrustes.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

The Elephant Whisperer

by: Graham Spence

$18.99 $1.99
When South African conservationist Lawrence Anthony was asked to accept a herd of "rogue" wild elephants on his Thula Thula game reserve in Zululand, his common sense told him to refuse. But he was the herd's last chance of survival: they would be killed if he wouldn't take them. In order to save their lives, Anthony took them in. In the years that followed he became a part of their family. And as he battled to create a bond with the elephants, he came to realize that they had a great deal to teach him about life, loyalty, and freedom.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

When Breath Becomes Air

by: Abraham Verghese

$25.00 $2.99
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Kind Is the New Classy

by: Candace Cameron Bure

$24.99 $1.99
The classy confidence you know and love—whether it’s on set at Full House or Fuller House, Dancing with the Stars, The View, or Candace’s Hallmark films—is no act. But it hasn’t come easy. In fact, learning to stay true to herself with grace has been one of the biggest fights of Candace’s life. The secret, she has learned, is kindness: it’s classy, unexpected, even counter-cultural, and ultimately wins the day.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

A Wicked War

by: Amy S. Greenberg

$16.95 $2.99
Often forgotten and overlooked, the U.S.-Mexican War featured false starts, atrocities, and daring back-channel negotiations as it divided the nation, paved the way for the Civil War a generation later, and launched the career of Abraham Lincoln. Amy S. Greenberg’s skilled storytelling and rigorous scholarship bring this American war for empire to life with memorable characters, plotlines, and legacies. 

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Registration

Forgotten Password?