Jawbreaker: The Attack on Bin Laden and Al Qaeda

by: Ralph Pezzullo

$16.00 $1.99
Gary Berntsen, the CIA’s key commander coordinating the fight against the Taliban forces around Kabul, comes out from under cover for the first time to describe his no-holds-barred pursuit—and cornering—of Osama bin Laden, and the reason the terrorist leader escaped American retribution. As disturbingly eye-opening as it is adrenaline-charged, Jawbreaker races from CIA war rooms to diplomatic offices to mountaintop redoubts to paint a vivid portrait of a new kind of warfare, showing what can and should be done to deal a death blow to freedom’s enemies.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing

by: Mignon Fogarty

$15.99 $2.99
Mignon Fogarty, a.k.a. Grammar Girl, is determined to wipe out bad grammar―but she's also determined to make the process as painless as possible. A couple of years ago, she created a weekly podcast to tackle some of the most common mistakes people make while communicating. The podcasts have now been downloaded more than twenty million times, and Mignon has dispensed grammar tips on Oprah and appeared on the pages of The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and USA Today. Written with the wit, warmth, and accessibility that the podcasts are known for, Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing covers the grammar rules and word-choice guidelines that can confound even the best writers.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Bad Boy

by: Walter Dean Myers

New York Times bestselling author Walter Dean Myers traveled back to his roots in this memoir that is gripping, funny, and ultimately unforgettable. Don’t miss this memoir by a former National Ambassador of Books for Young People!

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Two Miserable Presidents

by: Steve Sheinkin

$11.99 $2.99
That Congressman, Preston Brooks, was ready to attack Senator Charles Sumner of Massachusetts over remarks Sumner made slamming senators who supported slavery in Kansas. Brooks lifted his cane to beat Sumner, and here the action in the book stops, so that Steve Sheinkin can explain just where this confrontation started. In the process, he unravels the complicated string of events – the small things, the personal ones, the big issues– that led to The Civil War.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

The Awkward Thoughts of W. Kamau Bell

by: W. Kamau Bell

The Awkward Thoughts of W. Kamau Bellis a humorous, well-informed take on the world today, tackling a wide range of issues, such as race relations; fatherhood; the state of law enforcement today; comedians and superheroes; right-wing politics; left-wing politics; failure; his interracial marriage; white men; his up-bringing by very strong-willed, race-conscious, yet ideologically opposite parents; his early days struggling to find his comedic voice, then his later days struggling to find his comedic voice; why he never seemed to fit in with the Black comedy scene . . . or the white comedy scene; how he was a Black nerd way before that became a thing; how it took his wife and an East Bay lesbian to teach him that racism and sexism often walk hand in hand; and much, much more.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

The Return of George Washington

by: Edward Larson

$16.99 $2.99
"An elegantly written account of leadership at the most pivotal moment in American history" (Philadelphia Inquirer): Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Edward J. Larson reveals how George Washington saved the United States by coming out of retirement to lead the Constitutional Convention and serve as our first president.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Spectacle

by: Pamela Newkirk

$13.99 $2.99
An award-winning journalist reveals a little-known and shameful episode in American history, when an African man was used as a human zoo exhibit—a shocking story of racial prejudice, science, and tragedy in the early years of the twentieth century in the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Devil in the White City, and Medical Apartheid.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

The Red Parts

by: Maggie Nelson

$16.00 $2.99
Late in 2004, Maggie Nelson was looking forward to the publication of her book Jane: A Murder, a narrative in verse about the life and death of her aunt, who had been murdered thirty-five years before. The case remained unsolved, but Jane was assumed to have been the victim of an infamous serial killer in Michigan in 1969. Then, one November afternoon, Nelson received a call from her mother, who announced that the case had been reopened...

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Mr. S: My Life with Frank Sinatra

by: George Jacobs

"Mr. S: My Life with Frank Sinatra, by former valet-aide George Jacobs with an oh-so-able assist by William Stadiem, has at least five quotable and shocking remarks about the famous on every page. The fifteen years Jacobs toiled for Frank produces a classic of its genre -- a gold-star gossip-lover's dream....

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Wealth Unbroken

by: Rebecca Walser

Wall Street and mediocre, fee-seeking financial advisors have fed half-truths to Americans for decades, ruining their lifetime pocketbooks for their own gain. In an easy to read, conversational style, Rebecca shows you how to be one of the few Americans who not only survives but thrives in the New Normal of changing Federal tax codes, Baby Boomer retirement and market volatility.

KINDLE

Genre: Featured, Nonfiction

Registration

Forgotten Password?